GODFREY SOUTH OF THARN- His Second Wisdom

I had never seen a suitcase such a vivid shade of plaid, when I passed him by hitching on the road from Valley Brad,  I sensed perhaps a story there as I sped past, so I  backtracked, picked him up, and  when he got in the car I asked.

He said hello my name is Godfrey, I’ll  talk of any thing but beets- ” I passed plenty cultivated in the  flat lands to the East.  I have just spent the past year south of Tharn”, dropped off on a rainy night and had been sleeping neath a tractor in a barn.”

“I awoke just in time to roll across the hay , as the farmer at dawn came out and drove the thing away…this is his story.

“My name is Phineas O’Grodnick farmer of the finest sheep , in language foul I  asked this lad could he have found a more daft place to sleep?” ?He said hello my name is Godfrey, because of beets I”m south of Tharn,  on the road and under the tractor in your barn”.

“Up at the farmhouse over  rather a lot to eat, he told me he was on his own simply because of one last quarrel, over one last beet”.” Dislike of beets I”m sure many would not question, I Phineas O’Grodnick ..I was an exception.” ” He said my sister Alice 6 years older than me, she was bossy, devious, loud and mean.” ” She left beets in my bagpipes, beets in  my tea, beets baked in cake, beets in my stocking neath the Christmas tree.” I was ready to leave home but Alice took it hard, when our long suffering Ma dumped all that we owned in the yard.” ” I had to ask this odd young man, how did he deal with the torment and abuse? Godfrey told me he believed very strongly in Whirled Peas, and learned  as a baby that a war on beets would serve no earthly use.” .

..”  I will never Forget Godfrey , he’d been dropped off south of Tharn , and he stayed with us one year in the Shepard’s hut behind that barn”.  There are times in the evening when the sheep are safely penned,  and mornings in summer when we herd them out again. That in the wind I hear his bagpipes on the ridge above the farm, or see him striding through the snow an orphan lamb  carried in his arms..but he was bound out for Australia , and when he finally left  to head across the sea, he was a fine  friend and Shepard, he left his second Wisdom for me, he wrote.

I TEND MY SHEEP ON HILLSIDES STEEP , I CHERISH THE SEASONS AS THEY COME AND GO. I HAVE COME TO LOVE THIS TUSSOCK LAND, TOO RUGGED UP HERE FOR BEETS TO GROW.-AND WHEN SLEEPING UNDER A TRACTOR, BE MINDFUL ALWAYS OF THE FACTOR- THAT THOUGH THE FARMER MAY NOT MIND, HE MAY DRIVE IT OVER YOU ANYTIME  ”  I had never seen a suitcase such a vivid shade of plaid, when I met him he was hitching on the  road from Valley Brad”. As told to Beatrice.

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

