THE WISDOM FOUND WHILST WOOLGATHERING- Godfrey”s Sixth.

Dear Beatrice- Have spent the day in happy woolgathering,along a lazy river, shady and tinged a Horse – Slobber green in hue. The dusty little shops hear abouts, sell mostly dog-log, beer, and odd  square, waxy paper to use in the Loo.

Also one can dine on tinned spaghetti and baked beans, to my delight are the many lovely flavors of ice-cream…hoped to load a tub of it  with berries I had picked fresh and sweet.

But I fled in horror from the grocery store tonight, , kilt hoisted high I legged it down the frozen aisle and soon was out of sight. For instead of Tip-Top Boysenberries  in my treats there were BEETS! , Beet chunks and swirls, nearly gave me the dry hurls, of all things in ice-cream there were beets. but it is new day and all well now.

LIVE HARD LIVE YOUR DREAM, was tattooed boldly on the arm  of my  new boss Maree, owner of this farm. I answered an ad for a horseman wanted here, I tend stock and mend harness in  the beautiful valley, Winneleah. Considered “hardcase” is Maree, but  she really would rather live beyond the bounds of society. On cold winters days in the barn round the stove, she told me stories as I sewed. I shared with her  some of mine, Iv’e now been four years on the road. Yesterday there was a Tiger Snake coiled up in the Loo, Maree came in and  shot it, guess down here its what they do.

Maree also painted pictures, and she drew.  On a whim I traded my old Bagpipes, to a chap in the pub for his guitar. I am picking out the poetry he left inside, this old guitar, as Melbourne bound  I wait on the highway for a ride. Down in the big city with a few days to wait, for my ship to Tasmania across  the stormy strait.

I am sitting alone down on the harborside, thinking of an old couple  this morning on the tram-ride. Country folk they seemed, this elderly lady and man, delighting in there time together , I watched as he lifted her gently onto the train, they rode in their private world, then he lifted her off, I watched them laughing walking off hand in hand again.

..There is every  morning free breakfast where I stay- boiled egg and bun on a plastic tray. Second day an egg, no bun. Yesterday bun, no boiled egg, today egg and bun, no plastic tray. Time to catch that ship and be on my way.

Yes I’m wearing my cold -weather- kilt, and  ugly knit scarf for the sea air. As is my habit, woolgathering  In the foggy cold night air…please share with Ma, (and Arthur) this  letter with the stamp placed on askew, so let them know that all is well with me…Happy Days Ahead – Thank you, Thank you from Godfrey.

AND HIS 6TH WISDOM STATES- FRESH WILD BERRIES PICKED THAT DAY ALONG THE RIVER, ON ICE-CREAM MAKES THE FINEST DINNER- PLEASE DO NOT PUT HORRIBLE THINGS IN A FELLOWS ICE-CREAM. (this story is for Anthony Patrick Eugene Theriault)

2 thoughts on “THE WISDOM FOUND WHILST WOOLGATHERING- Godfrey”s Sixth.

  1. I’ve done all August and September 2013 and I can’t write a comment for each but I will for the lot.I am in awe of this piece of work. I really think it needs to be published and I must take a break fom reading or I will not write anything of my own.

  2. Understandable, my dear chap- Sorry for the poor typing and lack of syntax on the early works- late bloomer to this computer nonsense. I to, must break from my work to read yours. It is my dream to have the saga published one day, in a couple of volumes, and am really glad you are enjoying it – cheers !

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

