ESSENTIAL TO THE HEART and THE BLUE OUTHOUSES OF MEXICO- 2 poems by GODFREY

What do you feel is essential to the heart? I  asked Godfrey, he sighed deeply and  thought what he called his ‘THOTS’ . We were standing on a highway bridge in Chase, B.C. We were leaning over, traffic slowing, others on the bridge were looking down to.

In the company  of Godfrey I stood in wonder, watching spawning salmon returning from the sea.Peace is most important he said- a heart without fear gives hate no choice, but to bugger off and disappear.

Wisdom, goats and Donkeys have it born in  them as do these salmon passing under us here. Joy- all the music that has ever been, was placed by the wind long ago in a seashell. I hear it in my heart, the rustling leaves, the murmur of surf, the gurgling stream.

Faith- it weighs nothing and takes up little space, its the courage  the heart needs for the nasty things it must face.

Humor is essential to the vagabond heart, laughter  is contagious, capable of circling the earth. In my saddest times alone, even though I dislike beets I have sought mirth. There are heavy things he said, that a fellow can carry on his back, I do not carry what I do not need in my pack.

Then of course there is love, good old love, comforting as soup, a cream bun,hot buttered toast. What do I feel is essential to the heart-  love be the most!!!!

An elderly Hobo, introducing himself only as “Lost John” sent me this poem of  Godfrey’…..You may think he spent all his time in solitary contemplation, but he did not. Godfrey cherished solitude, but also would”talk to anyone, of anything but beets’, and also retained his impish streak.

…THE BLUE OUTHOUSES OF MEXICO-  by Clementine Tilapia- found in an old journal. No ballad or  legend or tale, no poem or song, no Godfrey story the true or the long. The places he went or was rumored to go, included this yarn, The Blue Outhouses Of Mexico.

But he sent me a postcard and there in a row, are pictured the famous blue outhouses,the blue outhouses of Mexico. The stamp placed askew meant all was happy and well, the post mark smudged, where sent from I could not tell.But it was his writing, hello from Godfrey, yes hello it is me.

I am knee deep surf fishing  in the lovely warm sea. My catch in a basket, my clothes on the sand, and no sign of beets yet in this fair  land . And up on the shore need I run there to go, are the blue outhouses….of Mexico.

2 thoughts on “ESSENTIAL TO THE HEART and THE BLUE OUTHOUSES OF MEXICO- 2 poems by GODFREY

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

