HOME ODD HOME- AND THE HIGH LEVEL LOO- His 18th wisdom of Godfrey- By Worzel

You may  Have noticed that the toilet rears it’s elliptical head often in Godfreys’ story- yes he admitted, I never had to find a toilet, they found me.  He told this story; back home in Wales, across the valley from the fields where Beatrice and I played was a castle, perched on craggy rock, and usually hidden in mist. When we were small, Beatrice and I would pretend our family outhouse was a castle. There was a rock pile nearby and was vaugely turret like in design.The moat we dug around it proved a hazard, we would storm the outhouse with beets, and oft I had to rescue Beatrice from the Norman Invading Basterns. Sadly, we got a bit carried away  once fending off a dragon and  burned the “Long Drop” down.

..Tenbrooks Smythe the 3rd bragged about the heated lavatories in his posh house. I recall that we were disgusted at the thought of a nasty toilet in the house. Rather than re-build the long drop, Ma had a flush loo installed off the wash house. We had “Ladies and Gents” separate loos’  I told Godfrey, where a pathway trod through our stepmother, Mrs Gibberflats’ junkyard.

..HOME ODD HOME- Home Odd Home, hole in the side under the eave. Brown carpet bald where a pathway had been worn through.Old dad  in his chair- hockey game on period two-reads the newspaper- eating his supper- cat on lap- doing all this while scowling at Godfrey. I made Godfrey welcome to visit our home odd home. Despite Mrs Gibberflat, my stepmother, but when she discovered that they, had in common the fact they loved to bake, they would stay up late and all day Sunday, over crumpets and pies and cake.

Old dad scowling at Godfrey,  happy with hairnet on. He wears a pink apron, patterned with kittens and bows, chatting away in our home odd home, mixing up batters and doughs. And I halfway up the stairs, pause during a lull in the ruckus. I had not known Godfrey long back then. But that day on a walk he told me , he believed that when- You caught that moments stillness, the path of the paddle, murmur of surf, midnight snowfall, absolute and rare serenity. Godfrey said that is when I thank time, for stopping there to wait for me.

..THE HIGH LEVEL LOO- In Alberta South, by the rivers mouth, known by name to only a few, it is there we gold panned in the gravel and sand in the shade of the high level loo. No low level loo would do for you- this one had no door and a scenic view. Wild horses came downstream to drink at night. With the stars a blanket  and the firelight I loved you and the high level loo- by Godfrey .

..Oh Godfrey our gold- panning holiday , was a time I will never forget. It was like a dream, kneeling in the cold stream  with my ass every day soaking wet. And how we would sing round the fire, the stories and songs you knew. Oh the skunks curling up warm under your chair, while we hid in the high level loo. By Worzel – Godfrey and I indeed spent a memorable spring holiday  exploring and gold- panning together. To this day his 18th wisdom makes me laugh, one I still  practice on camping trips to this day. WHEN SITTING ON CHAIRS AROUND THE CAMPFIRE; CHECK UNDER EACH OTHERS CHAIR BEFORE MOVING- SKUNKS LIKE THE WARMTH!!!!!

4 thoughts on “HOME ODD HOME- AND THE HIGH LEVEL LOO- His 18th wisdom of Godfrey- By Worzel

  1. ” he believed that when- You caught that moments stillness, the path of the paddle, murmur of surf, midnight snowfall, absolute and rare serenity. Godfrey said that is when I thank time, for stopping there to wait for me”… “Absolute and rare serenity”.
    You’ve described those moments of awareness that I treasure. I feel you’ve had many moments yoursef.?

    • Thanks Mercy-Janet mentioned you had vagabonded the California coast by van- you indeed would know this feeling well. I to can take myself back when stuck in the city.

    • I used an amalgam of friends Dads I have met through the years, and Mrs Gibberflat, a Scots woman, with a huge family that lived up the road from us in bright crimson house. I could never understand a word she said, her husbands work was twenty miles away, if their old car would not start, he walked. Pure, unfiltered Godfrey, apron on, glad you liked.

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

