HOT CROSS BUNS- An Easter Story- from Worzel

Indeed, I am a month late for this one, or a year early as Godfrey would reason, I have enjoyed a Spring trip to Wales, a happy  time for Beatrice, with a new foal in the paddock, and late nights up with her ewes lambing, she looked at me curdely one morning when I dug out Godfrey’s old cookbook, and planned a day baking Hot Cross Buns, we laughed, eventually, recalling his love of the yearly treats.    “Godfrey wrote, Oh yes, Hot cross Buns, a sign of spring! How did your Ma bake them?      ” Were they burnt on the bottom and doughy within? Ma’s were..”I kept the raisins for last, and picked the fruit bits out, for to stick in a gob, it annoyed my older sister, they were green and red. “It was the only holiday without margarine on homemade bread, we had hot cross buns, dripping butter”.  “We each had an Easter Basket, a fuzzy chick on the handle, mine was always blue, sister Alice every year hid my candy and left beets, when I was young on Easter Morning, did that ever happen to you?”            “Walking home that week from school, we could smell the cinnamon, hear Ma cursing at the oven as she baked the hot cross bun”.   “Beatrice’s mum ground her own flour, used hard, dried raisins she’d kept hid, Beatrice loathed the hearty, healthy buns, refused to eat them, even though always hungry back then, so I did”.  “I recall, I told Beatrice, of my step-mother Mrs Gibberflat”.  “She got dramatic when she baked, was oft covered in batter, waving a spoon to chase out everyone”. “Chase us from the house, as she labored to bake the hot cross bun”. “We played slide on our pond, still slushely froze, and only came home if we needed dry clothes, scoff the hot buns straight from the tray, on a prairie springtime, Easter Sunday”      “Godfrey’s Ma told him he would get worms from eating raw dough, but still we tried to snitch a bit..she biffed him on the head , and a boy who disliked beets had a massive tape-worm, from eating raw dough, it was from a “True Story” magazine that Sister Alice read”.  “Godfrey admitted, the bedtime story worried me”                                     “We had an Easter Feast of a greasy Mutton Roast, and a sing round the piano, Alice played and belted out the loud, religious ones, then hot cocoa before bed, and more of the doughy middle, burnt bottom, toasted over the fire, completely delicious, hot cross buns”.  “Sunday was church, more church, bow-ties and bonnets, and eggs hidden deep in the grassy school sports ground, my Uncle Lou would be drunk, laughing at the beets he had hidden and I found”. “In the graveyard I ran to avoid Uncle Lou, and the rotten eggs Thumper Mulgrew threw…”In the shade of the stone of an unfortunate someone, I had hidden in my shirt, one last hot cross bun”.  ” It was spring on Sonsie Farm, I baked and watched from the window as Beatrice let her goats and baby kids, out of the barn to romp and run….there was still slush on her pond, robins in the grass, and the  sweet welcome smell of the hot cross bun…

6 thoughts on “HOT CROSS BUNS- An Easter Story- from Worzel

  1. A lovely slide from present to past in this one-year-early blog about Easter. For me as well Easter was all about the special food and shrieking around with my siblings and friends, our fun interrupted by “church and more church.” I, too, once read of tapeworms and convinced myself I had one. Your post made me wish I’d convinced Barbara instead as she always ate Mom’s raw dough. Is Wales beautiful?

  2. Thanks Janet- Wales is a favorite place of mine, I hitched their with a friend in winter of 1986, passing up a chance to meet Yoko Ono. We stayed at a remote farm, in beds of straw in a barn, wood heated, and spent days walking the hills, all open country provided you mind the gate. In Swansea, we stopped to eat chips, on a pile of stones middle of town, gob full of potatoes, I realized I was sitting on the remains of a castle. Place in my heart, and a story to tell you of…Hope you did not have a tapeworm, our Ma scared us away from the dough with the vision..

      • Yes, I missed “Miss Ono”, as we were directed to call her, who was reportedly very down to earth, sat at the campfire and drank the dreadful tea we prepared. She donated money to buy a parcel of land called “The Sanctuary”, and teepees for it, rather a sad place, a dank, dark bog..but near a special wood. Wales was pure, unfiltered Godfrey, alright..

  3. I have ancesters from Wales but never learned the story of why they left. I still eat raw dough and lick the bowI. I often think a little wasting away from a tapeworm would be a side benefit.

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

