WHEN THEY DREAM AT THAT AGE…From Worzel and Godfrey

Worzel here- It occurred to me,  that long first year of Godfrey’s passing, I had not seen the odd, elderly chap who came into our luggage shop on Wednesdays, to smell the suitcases and satchels, never buy anything, and politely get on his way.

When Godfrey minded the shop, the two would converse, study maps and the globe, play scrabble in Welsh- “John understands Welsh”, he explained. Then came this morning, there he waited, in a blue and white van by the curb, waiting as I opened the shop, John strode in, smelled the mid sized plaid suitcase on display, paid in cash, ” I am for the road”, he bid me farewell, later in the year I learned his story.  

Godfrey would talk to anyone, talk of anything but beets- and I have included one of his “lost” poems, in honor of Peace Woman Hazel Rennie, and one for the #50 bus driver, who stopped the bus to help a fledgling crow out of the road.   

Hazel- Brave and Wise- I feel strongly, without question, that Hazel’s bold spirit is still down on The Common. Bending low over smoldering twig fire, damp to the knee, I recall her worn red jacket, squinting in the smoke, handed me a great wodge of fruitcake, and a chipped mug of dubious billy tea.

Hazel’s brown, muddy boots broke trail that man will never pave or the gorse grow over. May her name long be spoken where Peace Women gather, her poetry and story told till justice prevail. Round the fire at Aldermaston, in our memories of her laughter, long ago and across the ocean, Hazel is still down on The Common.

Stillwater Rookery- Wrong side of the tracks, on the banks of the inlet, where tall cedars still grow, lives a Rookery of Crows. And of that great rabble, crows of the mid city, one wears a red band, he likes who he pleases, and should you be chosen, he will  sit, gently crow footed, on your shoulder or hand.

“I seek higher wisdom, and in my seeking, it more often finds me”, it came  as did”Canuck” from Stillwater Rookery, scooped from doom on the street, raised by hand, never caged he is free. Still he brings shiny objects, ribbons, keys, bells and nails, he loves cool bathwater, he takes delight knocking over my iced-tea.”

In the heart of the city is a Rookery of crows, one has ridden on the Sky Train, he has been interviewed on T.V.  There is a higher wisdom in “Canuck”, crow of the Stillwater Rookery.

John on The Road-It made the headlines – “Missing Seniors- Two elderly women and a man, 73, wandered off from their retirement village- “One lady had joined the passing Gay Pride Parade, and was located safe at their rally, the other collected from a pub several miles away. The elderly man simply left a note- “John has gone, on the road”.   

He was caught, up early, in private watching travel shows. Taking an interest in trains, and books written by hobos.Dumped the nuts and bolts, and old coins from the tin Sierra Cup he bought some thirty years ago…John embarrassed his adult children, drove his golf cart on the highway, waving to all and sundry.

Spent his time with curmudgeon mates did John, over coffee in that greasy doughnut cafe’.

On a Sunday drive the family mentioned, a retirement residence with “view across the rose bushes.” Much more appealing than the ramshackle “Old Mans Home”, where roast beef was served each Monday, and he’d never be alone. John sideways smiled, he was quite contented on his own.

Farewell to the other old fellows he Yarned with. Fred by the window slowly stirs his cup, without looking up,” well John, we hate to see you go.” Bill, of Lading, always late for work, hurried by wearing safety vest, clapped him on the shoulder, wished his friend the best.

Captain Mudd was always angry, he built a float home of crates, pallets and rubbish, anchored his raft in a cove on the bay, lived at peace until told was not allowed to, angry since his comfy floating shack was towed away.  Captain Mudd asked, perhaps if I come along on the road with you, may find a better harbor, build my raft anew.

Shirtless Bob sat down,” I lost my shirt”, he’d tell anyone, my job, then home and family down the drain”. “When you get there, stop in Dauphin, I’d like to see pictures from my hometown again…

Pat, the baker, glazing doughnuts on a tray in her jaded manner thought,” he’ll be back in a week, when they dream at that age, they never get very far away”.  When they dream at that age, John pondered, he had always been the responsible one, man of integrity…

Easing the old, newly purchased camper van down the off ramp of the ferry, it is springtime, the roads rain slick, but he is in no hurry. Clearing sprawl of city, he heads her east up the green Fraser Valley.

Ahead is “Seldom Come By”, “Spuzzum”, “Balongy”, places noted on his map many years before by Godfrey. Directions to a waterfall, middle of the Manitoba prairie. John has all he needs, and by the fire that night reads from a boyhood book of poetry. Come morning he writes on fresh journal page…words of wisdom..when they dream at my age.

Wee Packets of Honey-I will share this memory, of when myself and Godfrey, stopped off in our rambling for cream scones and coffee. On our way out he would snitch the wee packets of honey set out by the tea urn. I’d slap his wrist, Godfrey did not worry or learn. Even when the honey pack leaked in his pocket, he was sticky, but unbowed, unconcerned when the coffee shop cashier scowled.

Wee packets of honey filled up a jar and a full kitchen drawer. “When older and cranky, may you have something sweet, always to remember by me when you dream”, Wrote Godfrey, and indeed, I do, still have snitched honey Sunday mornings with cream scones and coffee.

 

8 thoughts on “WHEN THEY DREAM AT THAT AGE…From Worzel and Godfrey

  1. You reminded me about a term I have always loved, “a rookery of crows”! What imagery! And didn’t you get a kick out of “Spuzzum” when you came across it in your travels? Thanks for this post. I’ll be reciting some of your whimsical phrases all day!

    • Thanks for the read, Diane- Have you ever been at Fort and Douglas very early morning? The rabble of the city crows is incredible- saw some recently chasing a raccoon down Government. On my first journey cross Canada by train, at 20, it stopped in “Spuzzum” It has taken this long to include it in a story.

  2. Oh, Sheila, I like John on the Road. He reminds me of my dad, who, though living independently in his own home for many years after the death of my mom, liked to get in his battered pickup truck and take long wandering drives to visit his children, old friends, or places he had hunted. The truck shook and rattled and you could see the pavement passing beneath the huge hole in the floorboard, but he was never happier than when rambling in it. My favorite supporting character is Shirtless Bob and the reason he was so named. My favorite rhyme: “Even when the honey pack leaked in his pocket, he was sticky, but unbowed, unconcerned when the coffee shop cashier scowled.” Another delightful post, my friend.

    • Dear Janet- I’m back soon, after nasty technical difficulties,and so many thanks for the book-beautiful. Catch you up soon love Worzel

  3. I am so tempted to go on the road. Maybe I will buy a van instead of a unit. I miss not Knowing Godfrey. And have I missed you? I don’t get WP notifications or have you been on the road?

    • Hello, everyone. Sheila’s computer died from the dreaded ‘white lung syndrome’. Too awefull to describe. Her new computer is being set up, and Godfrey, Worzel and the others will be back soon.

      LW.

Leave a Reply - Thank You From Godfrey

